Tuesday, December 08, 2015

Facing Reality ~

What ever became of all my good intentions and determination to center my life on God? Time is running out and I see I have devoted myself to other priorities.

Saturday, November 07, 2015

Thomas Merton ~

Lauding him as a "representative of the American people "
Pope Francis said: 
"Merton was above all a man of prayer, a thinker who challenged the certitudes of his time  and opened new horizons for souls and for the Church. He was also a man of dialogue, a promoter of peace between peoples and religions."
... words in an address before Congress. 
September 24, 2015

Saturday, October 24, 2015

Rammenau Castle near Dresden ~

At a concert here last evening they played some Scott Joplin and Leroy Anderson while on the walls the portraits of nobles who once lived here looked down at us with knitted brows. 

Thursday, October 08, 2015

In the Tumult ~

There are places of quiet and rest. 
Munich, Lenbachhaus 

Friday, August 21, 2015

Wednesday, August 12, 2015

Mothers ~



On the battlefield 
the wounded and dying men
cried out to God —  
or to their mothers . . . 

Thursday, August 06, 2015

Insight ? ~

"For me pain has no meaning."
Statement by Peter Hintze 
Vice President of the German Bundestag.
Protestant theologian.
while debating assisted suicide. 

Tuesday, July 14, 2015

The Time has Come ~

The wheat stands high in the fields waiting for the harvesters with scythes.

Monday, June 22, 2015

Helps in Life ~

What this Carthusian monk does,
  in silence and solitude,
is my constant strengthening inspiration.
La Grande Chartreuse, Grenoble, France

Friday, June 12, 2015

Morning Walk ~

We walked on tiny white sea shells and sand that morning at the Baltic Sea. 

Friday, May 08, 2015

To a Razor ~

Praised be you, my razor,
for serving me for six months,
unlike those that needed new blades daily
back when I was twenty-one.

Thursday, April 16, 2015

That the Seed Take Root ~

Stood and watched the farmer harrowing his field, row for row, patiently, in a cloud of dust. 

Wednesday, April 15, 2015

Nazi Concentration Liberated ~ April 15, 1945

Shades of Shoah

One Sunday morning in Munich
Seventy years later
Six suitcases painted white
Stood on a sidewalk
Each with a rose stuck on
And nametags.


People walked past
Stopped, bent over to read
And continued on
With shoulders stooped—
Wrenched from Sunday calm. 

Friday, March 27, 2015

To Understand the World ~

"To understand the world at all, sometimes you could only focus on a tiny bit of it, look very hard at what was close to hand and make it stand in for the whole. . ."
from: The Goldfinch, by Donna Tartt

Thursday, February 05, 2015

Outside My Window ~

In 10 below zero weather a black bird sat in the lilac bush under a canopy of snow for one full hour, all hunched and meditating . . .

Saturday, January 31, 2015

Merton's 100th Birthday ~

There was supposed be a weekend seminar held here about Thomas Merton which I was excited about and signed up for. It was called off because of lack of participants. 

Monday, January 12, 2015

Mothers of the Fallen ~




Take your hands from your eyes wet with tears, dear Mother, to show us the beauty there that your suffering has caused.

Sunday, January 04, 2015

We Are All Brothers ~

Spent the day in Stuttgart visiting museums walking around downtown. I saw thousands of people but not one of them would look me in the eye or show any sign of recognizing me as a fellow human being.